DeSoto BubbleLife -
Credit Union of Texas Awards 2020 William H. Cotton Scholarship to DISD High School Principal

Credit Union of Texas Awards 2020 William H. Cotton Scholarship to DISD High School Principal

The program has awarded a total of $100,000 to Dallas ISD educators since its inception 

DALLAS, January 28, 2021 – Credit Union of Texas (CUTX) has presented the $20,000 William H. Cotton Scholarship to Dallas Independent School District (DISD) high school principal Diana Nunez. Nunez has been a part of the DISD for two decades, serving in six educator and administrative positions before becoming the current principal of W.H. Adamson High School in Oak Cliff. She will use the scholarship to pursue a doctoral degree in the Cooperative Superintendency Program at The University of Texas at Austin.

“As a bilingual teacher and later as a Master Principal at the elementary through high school level, Diana’s 20+-year commitment to Dallas ISD proved to the committee that she would be an outstanding recipient of the 2020 Cotton Scholarship,” said Troy Mathieu, CUTX board treasurer and chairman of the William H. Cotton Scholarship Selection Committee.  “We are proud to honor Diana and know that CUTX will assist her in earning her doctoral degree, while also paying tribute to the legacy of long-time CUTX board member and Dallas ISD administrator William H. Cotton.”

The selection committee, made up of members of the CUTX board of directors, awards this scholarship annually to one DISD educator or administrator who will pursue a post-baccalaureate degree in the field of education while continuing to serve the DISD community in an impactful way. Nearly 30 applicants from across the District apply each year for the scholarship. Past recipients include a co-founder of Solar Preparatory School for Girls, the first all-girls public elementary school in Texas, a teacher for the Talented and Gifted program at the Yvonne A. Ewell Magnet Center and a teacher with Zumwalt Middle School’s Accelerating Campus Excellence Initiative (ACE).  

CUTX created the scholarship program in 2016 to acknowledge William H. Cotton’s 46 years of dedication and service to DISD and CUTX. He retired as an associate superintendent for DISD and as a board officer for CUTX. Following his retirement, he continued to serve the District in many capacities and garnered numerous awards before passing away in May of 2019 at the age of 85.

“As an organization founded by teachers, Credit Union of Texas values playing a key role in not only assisting Diana with her doctoral degree pursuit, but in also ensuring that the students of Dallas ISD benefit from educators like her,” said Jennifer Olvera, chief engagement officer at CUTX. “Diana’s background and unwavering dedication to service in her work for the District continues the tradition of honoring the service of William H. Cotton.”

About CUTX
For almost 90 years, Credit Union of Texas has been providing financial services to members throughout North Texas. Living out its vision to deliver an unexpected experience, CUTX has grown to over $1.5 billion in assets and now serves more than 144,000 members through its branch network. Membership is open to anyone who lives, works or worships in Dallas, Denton, Collin or Rockwall counties. For more information about CUTX, visit




Mary Kate Jeffries



Thursday, January 28, 2021