Pin on Pinterest

Despite the cold on January 7, fans and dignitaries turned out the honor the four State Titles won by DeSoto High School teams in the 2016 calendar year – Boys Basketball, Boys Track, Girls Track, and Football (6A-D2) in the DHS Dyer Gymnasium.

With food trucks out front serving warm food, guests entered to a mix of the band and a DJ, spot lights and an atmosphere of excitement! K104 DJ Lady Jade kicked off the event with the introduction of the four teams down the red carpet with cheerleaders and fans cheering them on. Once all were seated, the JROTC presented the Colors and senior Eric Adejuwon led the invocation before Principal Arista Owens-McGowan and Athletic Director Larry Davis welcomed all guests. Superintendent David Harris introduced our dignitaries, guests watched a special video message by Board President Carl Sherman, Jr. and heard from Board Vice President Aubrey C. Hooper.

DeSoto Mayor Curtistene McCowan and the City Council proclaimed the day State Champions Day and presented each group with a copy of the proclamation. Congratulations followed from Senator Royce West, Rep. Helen Giddings, Rep. Yvonne Davis and County Commissioner John Wily Price.

Each of the four coaches spoke briefly, thanking the community, our dignitaries, the district teachers and administration, the fans, parents and especially the players for their dedication and hard work to achieve each championship – Football Coach Todd Peterman, Girls Track Coach June Villers, Boys Basketball Coach Chris Dyer and Boys Track Coach Donald Miller. District football alumni – notably Ro Parrish and Corey Borner – congratulated each team, but especially the football team for accomplishing what each previous team had strived to achieve.

Finally, WFAA and Chevy had two special presentations with Chevy representative Jeff Sorrells of Chuck Fairbanks Chevrolet announcing the news: DeSoto had won team of the week for Week for 15, but was also named the 2016 WFAA Chevy Team of the Year! The Football Team captains and Coach Peterman accepted the award.

Recognize 4362 Views
Related Posts